Here's Your General Election Guide

Before you go to the polls Tuesday, you can check out who is running for local, county and state offices right here.

It's decision time—and there are many to make at the state, county and local levels in the general election on Tuesday.

As long as you are registered, you can vote tomorrow. If you don’t know where to vote, click here. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.


The hottest local election is for Council, where seven candidates are vying for three open four-year terms.

Running as Republicans are current . Democratic candidates are incumbent Incumbent , a current councilman, is running as a write-in candidate.


Seven candidates are in the running to fill six open seats on the Keystone Oaks School Board. The candidates for each region are:

  • Region 1 (Castle Shannon): Newcomer for both a four-year term and a two-year term position.
  • Region 2 (Dormont): Newcomer are vying to fill two open four-year terms.
  • Region 3 (Green Tree): Newcomers are running uncontested for two open four-year seats.


Brookliners, your school board choices are current , who is running on the Republican ticket.


Brookline residents will vote "yes" or "no" on : "Shall a 0.25 mills special tax be imposed by the City of Pittsburgh on all taxable real estate in the city of Pittsburgh effective Jan. 1, 2012 and thereafter, the proceeds of which shall be allocated and used only for the maintenance and operation of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh?"

If the question is approved by voters, a tax equivalent to $25 a year on each $100,000 of assessed value will be levied on all real estate in the city. A "yes" vote will be in support of the proposal.


  • Allegheny County voters will get to pick the next county executive—either Republican candidate .
  • Democrat Chelsa Wagner of Brookline, a business analyst, attorney and state representative for the 22nd District in the South Hills, will face Republican Robert Howard of Marshall Township, a former North Allegheny school director.
  • Democrat Stephen A. Zappala Jr. of Fox Chapel, an attorney, is running unopposed for re-election as the county district attorney.
  • For the county treasurer post, C. Edward Pfeifer of Oakland, a Republican, will face Democratic incumbent John K. Weinstein of Kennedy.
  • For the two county council-at-large seats, the candidates are Republican Heather Heidelbaugh of Mt. Lebanon, an attorney who has been active in Republican activities, and incumbent Democrat John P. DeFazio of Shaler, a United Steelworkers of America official and Allegheny County Labor Council leader and former professional wrestler.
  • For Allegheny County Common Pleas Court judge, incumbents Mike Marmo of Emsworth, a law professor, and a former attorney and special master for the county Board of Viewers; and Alexander P. Bicket of Mt. Lebanon, an attorney and former Fox Chapel High School teacher, are running unopposed on both the Republican and Democratic tickets for two open seats.
  • Allegheny County voters will also vote either "yes" or "no" for the retention of these five judges for Common Pleas Court: David R. Cashman, Guido A. DeAngelis, Michael A. Della Vecchia, Kathleen A. Durkin and Randy Todd.


  • Vying for a seat as a Superior Court judge are Republican Vic Stabile of Carlisle, Cumberland County, an attorney and former litigator in the state Attorney General's office; and Democrat David N. Wecht of Squirrel Hill, a Common Pleas Court judge, law professor and former Allegheny County Register of Wills and Orphan's Court Clerk.
  • For a seat as Commonwealth Court judge, Republican Anne Covey of New Hope, Bucks County, an attorney and first female member of the Pennsylvania Labor Relations Board, will face off against Democrat Kathryn Boockvar of Doylestown, Bucks County, an attorney and arbitrator. 
  • State voters will also vote either "yes" or "no" for the retention of J. Michael Eakin for an additional term as Supreme Court justice; John T. Bender and Mary Jane Bowes for an additional term as Superior Court judge; and Renee Cohn Jubelirer, Mary Hannah Leavitt and Robin Simpson for an additional term as Commonweath Court judge.

Check with Patch throughout the day for election coverage. You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

Bryan November 07, 2011 at 03:57 PM
Vote to restore the moral of the Dormont Police and Fire Departments! Vote for your safety! Vote out all incumbents!
Sandy Kaminski November 07, 2011 at 07:21 PM
The absurd postcarder is at it again. Just got my mail and it included a ridiculous flyer saying not to vote for Martinoville, Hodsonville, or Costanzoville. Really Gino, it's getting quite old now. Makes me really want to cast my vote this very minute for all three.
Cassie from CASSANDRA'S FLORALS November 07, 2011 at 09:13 PM
really when will the madness stop? why can't the police & fbi catch this person? vote whats in your heart... do the right thing... make dormont proud... look at the whole picture, not just the snap shot somepeople r showing you. :D


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something