Red Cross to Honor Everyday Heroes, Asking Community to Nominate Local Candidates

The American Red Cross is accepting hero nominations for its fifth annual Heroes Breakfast.

Red Cross to Honor Heroes at Fifth Annual Heroes Breakfast

Heroes are all around us. They live and work right here in Western Pennsylvania. Ordinary people perform extraordinary deeds on a daily basis, however, these individuals often do not receive recognition for their noble deeds.

The American Red Cross wants to applaud these courageous individuals by officially proclaiming them Heroes at the annual Red Cross Heroes Breakfast, to be held in Pittsburgh this September. The Red Cross aims to honor all community members who have gone “above and beyond’ in their lives and therefore, exemplify the Red Cross mission, to prevent and alleviate human suffering in the face of emergencies.

The Red Cross is asking the community to nominate its local heroes.  Individuals who have performed a heroic act – such as saving lives during an emergency or supporting disaster preparedness in their communities – between April 1, 2012 and March 31, 2013 are eligible to be nominated. 

This year, Heroes will be honored in seven award categories:

• Educator: The Educator Award is designated for any individual in the education field, including teachers, coaches, tutors and professors. The award recognizes a specific individual who has made a significant positive impact in the lives of students.

• Professional Responder: The Professional Responder Award will go to an individual who has a professional obligation to respond to emergencies such as lifeguards, paramedics, police officers and firefighters. The honor will recognize an individual who has performed a specific heroic act in the local community.

• Military: While all military servicemen and women are heroes, the Military Award is set for an active duty military individual, active reservist or veteran who has especially displayed the heroic nature of the military.

• Medical Professional: The Medical Professional Award will be given to an individual who has served in the medical field such as a nurse, doctor, pharmacist or medical technician. The individual will be nominated for demonstrating outstanding commitment and dedication in the position.

• Youth: The Youth Award is designated for those younger than 18 years old. The award will be given to a young person who has performed a specific heroic act or demonstrated extreme commitment within the community.

• Good Samaritan: The Good Samaritan award will be given to any individual who performs a heroic act to assist his or her neighbor in the local community.

• Lifetime Commitment to the Red Cross: This award is given to current or past Red Cross volunteers, staff members, board members or donors who have displayed remarkable dedication to the organization; this individual makes the Red Cross mission a reality in his or her community. (This award does not have a timeframe component).

Nominations must be received by Sunday, March 31, 2013. For more information including how to nominate a hero or for detailed criteria information, contact Kylie Dunmire, Special Events Associate at Kylie.Dunmire@RedCross.org or at 412-263-3123.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »